USAGSO's Olympic Opening Ceremony Program Special Guest...Jane Channell: Olympic Skeleton Athlete!

USA Girl Scouts Overseas' Olympic Opening Ceremony

Hey #Heartbreakers! I can't wait to see you on Friday, January 28th (Session 1) and Saturday, January 29th (Session 2) at USA Girl Scouts Overseas' Olympic Opening Ceremony Program, celebrating National Girls and Women in Sports Day!

We're going to learn about the Winter Olympic Sports and our female athletes participating in them and participate in special projects to cheer on our female athletes competing at the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics & Paralympics!

Girl Scouts and Girl Guides from all Councils/in all program grade levels (Girl Scout Daisies through Ambassadors and corresponding program levels for International Member Organizations) can join us for either one session or BOTH sessions of our Free program! During each program, we'll be working on different projects for different female athletes and we can't wait for YOU to join the girl-power celebration!

REGISTER FOR SESSION 1: Friday, January 28th at 6pm PST / 9pm EST / 3am CET (1/29) / 11am JST (1/29)

REGISTER FOR SESSION 2: Saturday, January 29th at 9am PST / 12noon EST / 6pm CET / 2am JST (1/30)

Plus, did I mention we're going to be joined by 2022 Female Olympians?! YES. Yes, we are. We're going to have a blast! I'm so excited to introduce you to one of our AMAZING Olympic Special Guests!

Jane Channell - USA Girl Scouts Overseas' Olympic Opening Ceremony Program

Meet Jane Channell: 2022 Olympian - Skeleton, Team Canada!

Jane Channell is a Skeleton Athlete representing Team Canada as the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics! This two time Winter Olympian was born and raised in North Vancouver, British Columbia and grew up a multisport athlete playing basketball, soccer, and softball and running on the track team.

Jane was inspired to try skeleton by Jon Montgomery's gold medal at the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver. She has competed since 2011 and was selected to the national team in 2013, joining the Skeleton World Cup squad in 2015!

I had the amazing opportunity to meet Jane on Zoom this past summer and loved learning about her strategies for focusing at 88 MPH (the speed at which she's sliding head first down the skeleton track!).

Kristina Lachaga & Jane Channell Jane Channell

I can't wait to cheer Jane on and celebrate her amazing journey in the sport of Skeleton! Plus, not only can you catch Jane on your TV during the Olympics...you can also see Jane on the Fruit By The Foot and Lara Bar boxes in Canada!! Congrats Jane!!! Now I have a very good excuse to get myself to Canada to get those boxes! :D

Jane Channell

Fast Facts about Jane!

- Moving on through high school, running was Jane's favourite sport leading her to run on the varsity track and field team at Simon Fraser University (She was a sprinter - "The shorter the distance the better!," she says!)

Jane Channell

- In her fifth year of University, Jane became a multisport varsity athlete playing on the softball team, graduating in the spring of 2011 with a Bachelor of Science in Physical Geography

- The same winter that Jane graduated from college, she moved to Whistler on a whim to fully immerse myself in the sport of skeleton, working full time and training full time for two winters where she worked on her sliding skills

- Jane made the Canadian National Development Team in her second year and then made the move out to Calgary for her third year to be with the rest of the team

Jane Channell

- In the 2017/18 season, Jane finished 5th overall on the World Cup circuit and competed for Canada in the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang where she had the fastest push times and finished 10th!

- Jane is an athlete mentor with Classroom Champions, connecting with classrooms through mentorship!

Jane Channell

Jane's Moments from the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympics!

Jane Channell

Jane Channell

Jane Channell

Follow Jane on her 2022 Olympic journey on her Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and Official Website and get ready to cheer on Jane, just like her cat named Twiggy!

Jane Channell

See you this Friday, January 28th (Session 1) and Saturday, January 29th (Session 2) at USA Girl Scouts Overseas' Olympic Opening Ceremony Program, celebrating National Girls and Women in Sports Day!

Meet & learn more about our Olympic Special Guests!

LYM! <3

love, the girl with the big pink heart™

---------------------------------------

Follow @KristinaLachaga on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Snapchat, & TikTok to get the daily scoop on all things "The Girl With The Big Pink Heart™" ;D

Stream & Download Kristina Lachaga's NEW RELEASE 'One Last Time' on Spotify, Apple Music, YouTube, Amazon, Deezer, SoundCloud, and more!

One Last Time - Kristina Lachaga

Text HEARTBREAKER to 33222 to receive your #Heartbreaker Welcome Pack, a free song download, hear a sneak peek of Kristina's new music, get exclusive updates, 1st access, and more! (US Fans Only)

** Please note: This program is not associated with, endorsed by, or in partnership with the Olympics, Olympic Games, Beijing 2022, their broadcast networks, International Federations, nor any other third parties. This is a free, educational event for girls registered in Girl Scouts/Girl Guides and hosted by USA Girl Scouts Overseas.


Powered by EggZack.com